Let’s host a global meeting

clt_top

The next daily round of Corporate Learning Trends & Innovations will take place April 21. As is our tradition, it will be online and free. Help me think how to make the event all that it can be.

Membership on the site just cracked 1,000. We have members in:

  • U.S. 550
  • India 70
  • Canada 65
  • Finland = 40
  • Australia = 35
  • Netherlands = 30
  • UK = 25
  • UAE = 25
  • Other Europe = 75
  • Other = 30

Our global membership offers an opportunity for us to conduct a global conference.

sf_globesydneyglobe delhiglobehelsinkiglobe

San Francisco U.S.A. – California Mon 2:14 PM PDT * Toronto Canada – Ontario Mon 5:14 PM EDT * London U.K. – England Mon 10:14 PM BST *
Helsinki Finland Tue 12:14 AM EEST * New Delhi India – Delhi Tue 2:44 AM IST Sydney Australia – New South Wales Tue 7:14 AM EST
_


I’ll propose that we run our session as a round-the-world marathon, handing the controls from the Americas Team to the Aussie Team to the Asia Team and to the European Team, perhaps concluding with the Americas Team the following day.

Do I have that right? This should help us think through timing.

------
San Francisco Toronto Helsinki New Delhi
Sun 12:00 Noon * Sun 3:00 PM * Sun 10:00 PM * Mon 12:30 AM
Sun 1:00 PM * Sun 4:00 PM * Sun 11:00 PM * Mon 1:30 AM
Sun 2:00 PM * Sun 5:00 PM * Midnight Sun-Mon * Mon 2:30 AM
Sun 3:00 PM * Sun 6:00 PM * Mon 1:00 AM * Mon 3:30 AM
Sun 4:00 PM * Sun 7:00 PM * Mon 2:00 AM * Mon 4:30 AM
Sun 5:00 PM * Sun 8:00 PM * Mon 3:00 AM * Mon 5:30 AM
Sun 6:00 PM * Sun 9:00 PM * Mon 4:00 AM * Mon 6:30 AM
Sun 7:00 PM * Sun 10:00 PM * Mon 5:00 AM * Mon 7:30 AM
Sun 8:00 PM * Sun 11:00 PM * Mon 6:00 AM * Mon 8:30 AM
Sun 9:00 PM * Midnight * Mon 7:00 AM * Mon 9:30 AM
Sun 10:00 PM * Mon 1:00 AM * Mon 8:00 AM * Mon 10:30 AM
Sun 11:00 PM * Mon 2:00 AM * Mon 9:00 AM * Mon 11:30 AM
Midnight * Mon 3:00 AM * Mon 10:00 AM * Mon 12:30 PM
Mon 1:00 AM * Mon 4:00 AM * Mon 11:00 AM * Mon 1:30 PM
Mon 2:00 AM * Mon 5:00 AM * Mon 12:00 Noon * Mon 2:30 PM
Mon 3:00 AM * Mon 6:00 AM * Mon 1:00 PM * Mon 3:30 PM
Mon 4:00 AM * Mon 7:00 AM * Mon 2:00 PM * Mon 4:30 PM
Mon 5:00 AM * Mon 8:00 AM * Mon 3:00 PM * Mon 5:30 PM
Mon 6:00 AM * Mon 9:00 AM * Mon 4:00 PM * Mon 6:30 PM
Mon 7:00 AM * Mon 10:00 AM * Mon 5:00 PM * Mon 7:30 PM
Mon 8:00 AM * Mon 11:00 AM * Mon 6:00 PM * Mon 8:30 PM
Mon 9:00 AM * Mon 12:00 Noon * Mon 7:00 PM * Mon 9:30 PM
Mon 10:00 AM * Mon 1:00 PM * Mon 8:00 PM * Mon 10:30 PM
Mon 11:00 AM * Mon 2:00 PM * Mon 9:00 PM * Mon 11:30 PM
Mon 12:00 Noon * Mon 3:00 PM * Mon 10:00 PM * Tue 12:30 AM
Mon 1:00 PM * Mon 4:00 PM * Mon 11:00 PM * Tue 1:30 AM
Mon 2:00 PM * Mon 5:00 PM * Midnight * Tue 2:30 AM
Mon 3:00 PM * Mon 6:00 PM * Tue 1:00 AM * Tue 3:30 AM
Mon 4:00 PM * Mon 7:00 PM * Tue 2:00 AM * Tue 4:30 AM
Mon 5:00 PM * Mon 8:00 PM * Tue 3:00 AM * Tue 5:30 AM
Mon 6:00 PM * Mon 9:00 PM * Tue 4:00 AM * Tue 6:30 AM
Mon 7:00 PM * Mon 10:00 PM * Tue 5:00 AM * Tue 7:30 AM
Mon 8:00 PM * Mon 11:00 PM * Tue 6:00 AM * Tue 8:30 AM
Mon 9:00 PM * Midnight * Tue 7:00 AM * Tue 9:30 AM
Mon 10:00 PM * Tue 1:00 AM * Tue 8:00 AM * Tue 10:30 AM
Mon 11:00 PM * Tue 2:00 AM * Tue 9:00 AM * Tue 11:30 AM

Imagine, if you will, four segments in our global day, each the responsibility of a different local team, perhaps:

  • Americas Team
  • Australia Team
  • India Team
  • Euro Team

Each team would have people in these roles:

  • Controller — who in running Eluminate, Connect, or whatever software environment we decide upon
  • Director — who keeps track of time, insures presenters are ready, moderates the main stage
  • Chat moderator — who keeps an eye on Twitter feeds and is the advocate for those in the chats
  • Documenter — who records the events and posts recordings to the web
  • Presenters — who offer points of view, begin conversations, deliver content
  • Marketing manager — who generates publicity and recruit presenters and participants prior to the event

Are you familiar with the technique for conducting innovative meetings called The World Cafe? When everyone switches tables, one person stays behind for continuity. Imagine someone from the India session reporting into the Euro session, the Euros adding spice to the Americas session, etc. We’d be cooking up the first event for learning professionals with global synergy.

This is 100% speculative at this point. The Americas Team meets for coordinate and planning tomorrow morning. Your feedback is welcome.

If you’d like to play a role in this experiment, make yourself heard at our community site. We are all volunteers here. We pay in karma. Please join us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


6 − = one

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>